Daily Archives: September 4, 2015

Promises I Made – Michelle Zink

Promises I Made
By: Michelle Zink
Lies I Told Book 2
Available November 2015

Check out my review of the first book, Lies I Told.

In the thrilling sequel to Lies I Told, Grace learns that the most difficult thing about pulling off the perfect crime is living with the consequences.

Grace Fontaine was trained to carry out perfect crimes. But when a mistake was made the night her family tried to execute their biggest heist yet, her world fell apart. Now her brother is in jail, her mother has disappeared with the entire stolen fortune, and her father is determined to find a new mark, no matter the cost.

Haunted by the way she betrayed her friends—and Logan, the only boy she’s ever loved—as well as the role she played in her brother’s arrest, Grace decides she must return to the place every thief knows you should avoid: the scene of the crime.

Returning to Playa Hermosa as a wanted criminal is dangerous. But Grace has only one chance to make things right. To do it, she has to use everything she’s been taught about the art of the con to hunt down the very people who trained her: the only family she’s ever known.
Perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Gail Carriger, this thrilling, high-stakes novel deftly explores the roles of identity and loyalty while offering a window into the world of the rich and fabulous.

This Blonde’s Review:
If you read the first book in this series you know that there was so much left up in the air. Grace had betrayed the friends she had made for the sake of her family, who in turn betrayed them as well. Her brother was left to take the fall and her mother disappeared with the gold. The results of the night of the theft have made it clear that the only people who cared about her over their own needs were the ones she left behind. She knows she can’t expect forgiveness but she can help free her brother.

This book was a lot more low key than the first. In the first there is a lot of build up as they get closer to the theft and not knowing what to do. Once everything has taken place this one is about dealing with the consequences and attempting to find a way to free her brother since he didn’t deserve what happened to him. We see Grace trying to find a way to make things right for the people she can. She knows the money is gone but she can help see justice served. We also get to see Grace attempt to learn what it means to let people care for her after the disaster that was the family she grew up in. She always thought that was a family, it is only after their betrayal and being cared about by others that she realizes what care really looks like.

You would think that being back in Playa Hermosa that we’d see plenty of the characters from the first book. Instead we only catch glimpses of them, enough to see that her choices devastated them but that they are good people who did legitimately care for her. The characters I really loved are new in this book. One of them we got a glimpse of in the first book but he and his partner were such great people. Grace would have been at a loss without them in many ways and they were amazing.

The first book had Grace falling for the guy and friends and having to decide if she’d betray her friends or her family. The second book wasn’t about the guy or the friends. This book is about Grace finding herself. She finds herself by doing the right thing by her brother and by learning what family and friendship is really about.


Posted by on September 4, 2015 in Around The World Tours, Book Review