RSS

Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon

02 Sep

Everything Everything
By: Nicola Yoon
Available September 2015

Description:
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

This Blonde’s Review:
Madeline has spent all of her life locked away with only her mother and nurse for company. She has a rare condition that makes her deathly allergic to the outside world. When Olly moves in next door something about him draws her.

Olly and Madeline are complete opposites. He is in constant motion, while her life has been very still. He spends his time outside while she is always inside. She can’t help watching him and he can’t contain his curiosity about the mysterious girl next door. Their secret relationship starts slowly, with notes and internet conversations, and soon escalates to making decisions that can change the course of her life. Madeline has to decide what she’s willing to risk for the type of life she wants and how far she’s willing to go to get it. Is she really living if the life she lives locked away in her tower?

I liked seeing the way Madeline slowly comes to realize what she wants for herself. I love that Olly prompted her to look further but her thoughts and decisions weren’t just for a guy. She wants to live life on her own terms, but she cares about her mother and doesn’t want to hurt her.

I enjoyed getting to know Madeline and Olly, I also loved seeing the way their relationship built. If you like books with characters who have insurmountable obstacles to a relationship then you may enjoy this one.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 2, 2015 in Around The World Tours, Book Review

 

2 responses to “Everything Everything – Nicola Yoon

  1. Words Worth Wordsworth

    September 2, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    ur blogs are very interesting .. plz would u mind checking out mine too..
    https://jackdawson2015.wordpress.com/

     

Leave a Reply

 
