RSS

Every Last Promise – Kristin Halbrook

13 Mar

Every Last Promise coverEvery Last Promise
By: Kristin Halbrook
Available April 2015

Description:
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate’s sexual assault.

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn’t supposed to. But she hasn’t told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.

Now Kayla’s coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

This Blonde’s Review:
Kayla is struggling. After witnessing the sexual assault of one of her best friends she is in a tragic accident that kills a classmate. She’s just gone home again after spending time away with her aunt. Now that she’s home life isn’t easy. Kayla was always the girl in her group of friends who loved her hometown. Everyone else had dreams outside of town but Kayla just loved her home. After the accident the people in her town judge her, her friends reject her, and Kayla doesn’t feel at home in her home anymore. All she wants is to go back to the way things used to be.

Kayla doesn’t want to remember the things that happened that night. If she keeps what she knows to herself she hopes she’ll be accepted again. If she doesn’t say anything then maybe the guy everyone listens to will give his seal of approval and she’ll be accepted again. Except to do that she has to betray one of her best friends by not sharing what she knows happened to her.

Kayla has some hard choices to make. She struggles to know what the best thing to do would be. She has to come to terms with the guilt of what happened that fateful night and what is still happening. She will learn what is right and best. Then she’ll have to accept the results of her choices.

I really liked Kayla, even though I had a hard time accepting her decision. I can’t imagine being in the same position as the girls in this book. Seeing the way the others in town act towards her was heartbreaking, especially her best friends. I think that it was wonderful that she received support from unexpected places. The choices that she makes in this book will change many lives and the author did a good job of showing the ways that speaking up can longer reaching than you might initially think.

If you like to read about characters who struggle to know what is the best option, what is right or what they want, then you’ll want to read this one.

Advertisements
 
 

One response to “Every Last Promise – Kristin Halbrook

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: