RSS

Monthly Archives: December 2014

Unleashed – Sophie Jordan

Unleashed coverUnleashed
By: Sophie Jordan
Uninvited – Book 2
Available 24 February 2015

Don’t forgot to check out the first book, Uninvited, on Goodreads.

Description:
Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes sequel to New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s Uninvited, is perfect for fans of James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy has spent the last few months trying to come to terms with the fact that she tested positive for the kill gene HTS (also known as Homicidal Tendency Syndrome). She swore she would not let it change her, and that her DNA did not define her . . . but then she killed a man.

Now on the run, Davy must decide whether she’ll be ruled by the kill gene or if she’ll follow her heart and fight for her right to live free. But with her own potential for violence lying right beneath the surface, Davy doesn’t even know if she can trust herself.

This Blonde’s Review:
In the first book Davy tested positive for HTS and her whole life changed. I liked Davy in the first book and I was looking forward to getting to know her better in this one. The book starts with Davy and her friends getting ready to cross into Mexico. Things don’t go as planned and Davy finds herself shot and separated from the group. Then she is found by the guy in the boots, who saves her and takes her to a secret facility. Davy finds the resistance without trying to.

Davy fights not to get attached to anyone and tries to stay on her own. She wants to stick to the plan to get across the border and rejoin her friends. She refuses to let herself care about Caden or any of the others. But when someone comes along who insists on seeing you and cares about you no matter how hard you try not to care, it can be hard to resist. Davy has a hard time resisting as well. And as much as she doesn’t want to join the resistance, she finds herself drawn to having a purpose.

When they realize there is a traitor in the resistance they know they have to find out who it is before Davy can leave. Somehow she keeps surviving despite all of the reasons she shouldn’t. The girl Davy is by the end of this book is much stronger than the girl she was in the start of the first book. Caden was so great, I couldn’t help but love him. I loved that he was a leader and that people knew they could trust him to do the right thing.

I enjoyed this book and I think that if you’ve read the first book you’ll want to read this one. I enjoyed it and loved the introduction of the new characters and what it meant for Davy’s life.

Advertisements
 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 22, 2014 in Around The World Tours, Book Review

 

Little Peach – Peggy Kern

Little Peach coverLittle Peach
By: Peggy Kern
Available 10 March 2015 (my birthday!)

Description:
What do you do if you’re in trouble?

When Michelle runs away from her drug-addicted mother, she has just enough money to make it to New York City, where she hopes to move in with a friend. But once she arrives at the bustling Port Authority, she is confronted with the terrifying truth: she is alone and out of options.

Then she meets Devon, a good-looking, well-dressed guy who emerges from the crowd armed with a kind smile, a place for her to stay, and eyes that seem to understand exactly how she feels.

But Devon is not what he seems to be, and soon Michelle finds herself engulfed in the world of child prostitution where he becomes her “Daddy” and she his “Little Peach.” It is a world of impossible choices, where the line between love and abuse, captor and savior, is blurred beyond recognition.

This hauntingly vivid story illustrates the human spirit’s indomitable search for home, and one girl’s struggle to survive.

This Blonde’s Review:
Many don’t want to think about girls being trapped and sold for sex in this country. And the ones who accept that it happens can’t understand how it can happen. Little Peach tells the story of Michelle and how she became Little Peach.

Michelle’s childhood wasn’t a safe one, her mother was a drug addict and all she had was her grandfather. When he dies she finds herself at the mercy of the men in her mother’s life until her mother kicks her out. She believes she’ll be able to join a friend who went to New York City and takes a chance. Except when she gets there she doesn’t have any idea where to go. She’s helped out by a nice guy who offers to let her stay with him and help her out until she can find her friend. She’s sure he’s the nicest and is helping her because she’s worth it. That there are people who want her around, even if her mother didn’t.

Watching the way Michelle becomes Little Peach and the things that she accepts in her life is heartbreaking. It shows how a girl can think she’s making better choices and really setting herself up for more hurt. We can see the way that these situations affect the other girls in the house, some not growing up and others growing up too fast. We’re able to see the way the girls can bond, even in those situations.

It is an awful truth of our world and enough to break your heart. I’d hope that it is also enough to open people’s eyes to some of the things in this world. Because these things do happen in the world and in our country. And not everyone can do what Michelle manages to do, many will pay the same price the other girls have paid or continue to pay.

If you enjoy books that address difficult issues that face us then you’ll want to read this one. I’m not sure that I can say you’ll enjoy it since it’s a hard book to read at many points, but it is worth reading.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 21, 2014 in Around The World Tours

 

The Last Time We Say Goodbye – Cynthia Hand

The Last Time We Say Goodbye
By: Cynthia Hand
Available February 2014

Description:
There’s death all around us.
We just don’t pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn’t look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she’s just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that’s all she’ll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there’s a secret she hasn’t told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex’s brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn’t have to be real to keep you from moving on.

This Blonde’s Review:
Lex’s story is heartbreaking. It’s the story of a girl whose brother commits suicide and how she lives after he is gone. She pushes her friends and boyfriend away. She stops considering her future. Lex just exists as the girl whose brother died.

When she thinks she sees the ghost of her brother she runs. She can’t get away fast enough. Somehow it helps her reconnect with a childhood friend who is able to be there for her in ways her other friends can’t. And she finds a letter her brother left behind for a girl. When he left so little behind for anyone else, this was big.

Lex starts to get to know more about her brother after he is gone. She starts to see their relationship and to appreciate what they had. And she has to deal with feeling as though she failed him. Lex will have to face what happened the day he died and why she feels that she can’t allow herself to move on and be happy.

There are so many things I liked about this book, like the way that Lex put herself out there for her brother’s friend. I liked that there wasn’t one big reason for the things that happen in this book, just as there often isn’t in real life.

It broke my heart to see things that reminded me of my own little brother. I know I did the same thing as Lex, not noticing my brother despite loving him. When a book can make you look at your own life it is doing something right. When I finished this book I wanted to cry and then I wanted to call my brother. So this book did something right for me.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 15, 2014 in Around The World Tours, Book Review

 

A Wicked Thing – Rhiannon Thomas

A Wicked Thing
By: Rhiannon Thomas
Available February 2015

Description:
Rhiannon Thomas’s dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after happily ever after.

One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale.

Her family is long dead. Her “true love” is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.

Rhiannon Thomas weaves together vivid scenes of action, romance, and gorgeous gowns to reveal a richly imagined world … and Sleeping Beauty as she’s never been seen before.

This Blonde’s Review:
This story is another retelling of Sleeping Beauty, but this one is different than another that I’ve read before. In this one Sleeping Beauty has been asleep and kept as a political piece. Princes have been going to kiss her each year in all of the years she’s been asleep. Everyone she has ever known is dead and when she wakes they expect her to play the mild little princess.

Aurora is more than the sleeping beauty that stories have been told about. She has a fire inside of her, strength, intelligence, and independence. She sees the way the kingdom is being run and she doesn’t agree. She’s not sure how to stand up to it, but she knows that the other options she’s seen aren’t good either. So she waits and doesn’t do anything. She’s pressured by a boy in the resistance, by the queen, by a visiting prince, even by the witch that cursed her.

Seeing Aurora turn from the weak girl who silently followed directions into the girl who discovered and accepted the magic inside of her was great. I’m not sure how I feel about the decision she made, but when people want to use you sometimes the best thing you can do is stop letting them. I really liked her prince as well, even if he was too young to be able to fully stand and be the good man that you can tell. It was a good thing to see even if he wasn’t able to stand up yet because it gives you hope for the future since he was the one truly good thing.

If you like reading retellings of fairy tales that have a different sort of ending then you’ll enjoy this one. This isn’t about a girl waking up and falling in love with a stranger who kissed her awake. This is a book about a girl waking up and trying to decide the best way to take care of her kingdom.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 14, 2014 in Around The World Tours, Book Review