RSS

Don’t Touch – Rachel M Wilson

04 Jul

Don’t touch
By: Rachel M Wilson
Available Sept 2014

Description:
A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together… which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn’t sure she’s brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who’s fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

This Blonde’s Review:
We all have thoughts and actions that we know don’t make sense, superstitions or habits that we can’t seem to shake. Most of them are harmless and may just cause others to shake their heads or chuckle. For Caddie it becomes something debilitating. She has the idea that if she can keep from touching other people somehow her family will stay together.

Caddie’s father has moved out and she’s scared her family will break apart. She knows that her thoughts about not touching others being enough to keep bad things from happening isn’t reasonable, but she won’t risk it. She starts to find that it is harder than she thought to not have to touch people. Keeping her distance and secrets from her childhood best friend, Maddie, that she is reconnecting with is difficult. Keeping her distance from Peter, the great guy she’s getting to know, is even harder.

Caddie’s struggles were hard to see and understand, but I liked the way the author eased us into it slowly with her. The way it started as something little she thought she could control and slowly grew out of proportion. How she could want touch but also fear it at the same time. Getting to see the way it worked in her mind made it easier to relate to what she was going through. It also made me think about how easy it would be for something to go too far that way.

I loved the other characters in this book too. Maddie accepted Caddie with her gloves and secrets, even though she obviously wanted to know what was going on. Peter was so great in his understanding and patience with Caddie, I really wanted her to be able to put everything aside so they could be together. The rest of the group was awesome too and I enjoyed getting to know them through Caddie, despite the distance she tried to keep from everyone.

I enjoyed getting to know Caddie. I could understand her desire not to tell anyone what was happening with her, but wished she was more open. My favorite parts of the book all happened after she finally opened up about it. Everything didn’t go away overnight because they really can’t, but seeing her try and seeing the things people were willing to do to help her was great.

Advertisements
 

One response to “Don’t Touch – Rachel M Wilson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: