RSS

Biggest Flirts – Jennifer Echols

09 May

Biggest Flirts
By Jennifer Echols
Superlatives – Book 1
Available 20 May 2014

Description:
Tia and Will’s lives get flipped upside down when they’re voted Yearbook’s Biggest Flirts in this sassy novel from the author of Endless Summer and The One That I Want.

Tia just wants to have fun. She’s worked hard to earn her reputation as the life of the party, and she’s ready for a carefree senior year of hanging out with friends and hooking up with cute boys. And her first order of business? New guy Will. She can’t get enough of his Midwestern accent and laidback swagger.

As the sparks start to fly, Will wants to get serious. Tia’s seen how caring too much has left her sisters heartbroken, and she isn’t interested in commitment. But pushing Will away drives him into the arms of another girl. Tia tells herself it’s no big deal…until the yearbook elections are announced. Getting voted Biggest Flirts with Will is, well, awkward. They may just be friends, but their chemistry is beginning to jeopardize Will’s new relationship—and causing Tia to reconsider her true feelings. What started as a lighthearted fling is about to get very complicated.

This Blonde’s Review:
I am a big fan of Jennifer Echols but I’m not sure that I loved this one. I’m looking forward to the second book though since I was part of the same superlative my senior year. The book with go way differently than my experience but I’m still amused by it and want to see where she takes it.

In this book we have Tia and Will, who are voted biggest flirts. I didn’t really care for Tia that much honestly. She spends her time refusing to be dependable and wanting to hook up with guys she doesn’t care about. She has a steady friend with benefits though they’ll both hook up with others as they choose. Tia hadn’t taken that path due to her own heartbreak, instead she chose that path because of her mother and sisters. She refused to follow in their footsteps so would rather create her own kind of damage for her life.

Will is the hot new guy that Tia can’t get enough of. Will is one of the good guys. He’s considerate, attractive, wants to have a steady girlfriend, do well in school, excel on drums, gets along with his family, the whole nine yards. Will spells trouble for Tia so she does everything she can to act like she doesn’t care.

I liked Will so much more than Tia. He was a good person who was just trying to be around the girl he liked. I thought it was funny that while it looked like he liked someone else when Tia wasn’t available, as far as he was concerned he had just asked someone to show him around. Will fell into dating someone without even realizing that’s how everyone would see it.

I actually enjoyed some of the other characters much better than our main character Tia. Her best friends could end up with some interesting stories. Overall, this was an easy read that I was able to fly through while out of town. It was cute but the easy hookup, no responsibility attitude Tia has could be irritating to some. I could understand that idea behind it but I couldn’t connect with it. Will and their friends were what saved this one for me. I wanted to find out more of the back story so that I would know more when their stories come up.

 

Leave a Reply

 
