RSS

White Hot Kiss – Jennifer L Armentrout

12 Mar

White Hot Kiss
By: Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Dark Elements – Book 1
Available Now

Description:
One kiss could be the last.

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.

This Blonde’s Review:
I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this book since gargoyles didn’t exactly sound like something I wanted to read about and the cover wasn’t calling to me either. But I decided not to judge a book by its cover and gave it a try anyway.

If you enjoyed Jennifer L Armentrout’s Covenant series then you’ll likely enjoy this one since I can see some similarities. There’s a girl who is a halfblood, half gargoyle and half demon in this case, who loves a good guy and finds herself hunted by the bad guys. She also finds herself falling for a bad boy along the way and ends up in a love triangle. Now it isn’t a bad thing to have similar themes since that doesn’t mean we will feel the same way about the characters or that the same things will happen.

Layla is one of those characters who is torn. She wants to be good but she’s half demon so she also fights the urge to steal souls. That leads to some pretty big baggage to carry around, especially when she’s surrounded by such pure souls. Watching her try so hard to fight it made me want to know this girl because I can’t imagine it would be easy to deny half of who you are that way. I didn’t care for the way the people she has grown to think of as family treat her or the way she accepted it. But despite her demon side I believe she’s strong and way better than they’re willing to see.

Reading this one I know I was supposed to think Zane was a great guy since that’s what Layla thinks, but I really couldn’t go along with it. I didn’t care for him. He wasn’t willing to be completely himself with her, he follows his father a little too easily, and I just didn’t feel anything for him. He seemed a little flimsy for our character to love. I don’t know if that’s something the author needed to build better or if that is just the kind of character Zane is.

Luckily the author didn’t skip on letting us get to know bad boy Roth. He’s one I really enjoyed getting to know. He’s a demon but the way he cares for and helps Layla makes some of his bad boy attitude seem like an act. He helps her see that being a demon isn’t necessarily evil, it may be mischievous instead. And she learns that even a demon could be willing to risk themselves to protect someone they care about

I enjoyed this much more than I thought I would. I enjoyed Jennifer L Armentrout’s Covenant series so I was just fine with the similarities since there are enough differences. I was won over by Roth and I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series. I have high hopes for Layla now that she’s learned a few things about herself and can’t wait to see if she’ll grow as a character. I also want to see what happens with Roth and if Zane becomes more appealing to give this love triangle more bite.

 
 

One response to “White Hot Kiss – Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

 
