RSS

The Elite – Kiera Cass

12 Apr

The Elite
By: Kiera Cass
The Selection – Book 2
Available 23 April 2013

Description:
Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

This Blonde’s Review:
America has managed to stay in Selection without being sent home thanks to the way Maxon feels about her. Her feelings for him have grown as well but she is still unwilling to commit to being with him. For Maxon the Selection is what will determine who he spends his life with so he can’t focus on America only if she won’t focus on him. Of course knowing that Maxon is seeing other girls doesn’t help America with her decision. When something awful happens to someone America cares about it changes the way America sees everything around her. Is this world she lives in what it should be? Or has everything she was ever taught about their history been a lie?

I loved America and Maxon in the first book so I was eager to get my hands on the second book in this series. I’m not really sure why, but I never really warmed up to Aspen, so seeing America care so much about Maxon was great. St the same time, I was a little unsure of Maxon. I get that he has to make his choice between the girls there and find a second choice, but at the same time… if he plays around too much he may alienate his other choices. At this point in the story I still prefer Maxon and would love to see America as the princess. I think that she could do such amazing things so I’m excited to see what will happen in the next book in this series. I really loved her presentation that she was required to do. It caused so many problems but it was so perfect! Especially compared to the other girls’ attempts.

I’m also loving the pieces of information we’re learning about the rebel groups and about the country’s history. We look at this caste system they have and can only wonder how it is that people have been led to accept it. Seeing the way that history is only passed down orally makes it a little clear, but when America gets her hands on a forbidden book everything opens up. I really hope we get to see more of what is really happening in their history and with the current King in the next book. I’d also love to learn more about Maxon and what he’d do with the kingdom if he had a say.

I really enjoyed this book. It gave me some answers to questions from the first book but it also left me with so many questions and hopes for the next book. I don’t know about you, but a book that leaves me wanting to know more about how the world it’s based in works and not just the story is the kind of book I don’t want to put down. I want to understand the world that has been built and I want to know how to make it better.

If you enjoyed the first book in the series this book won’t disappoint you. If you enjoy reading about a girl who is trying to figure out which guy she wants to spend her life with, what her country really stands for, and what she really stands for, then you’ll want to read this one.

 
 

2 responses to “The Elite – Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

 
