RSS

The Rising – Kelly Armstrong

11 Mar

Darkness Rising coverThe Rising
By Kelly Armstrong
Darkness Rising – Book 3
Available April 2013

Description:
Things are getting desperate for Maya and her friends. Hunted by the powerful St. Clouds and now a rival Cabal as well, they’re quickly running out of places to hide. And with the whole world thinking they died in a helicopter crash, it’s not like they can just go to the authorities for help.

All they have is the name and number of someone who might be able to give them a few answers. Answers to why they’re so valuable, and why their supernatural powers are getting more and more out of control.

But Maya is unprepared for the truths that await her. And now, like it or not, she’ll have to face down some demons from her past if she ever hopes to move on with her life. Because Maya can’t keep running forever.

Old secrets are revealed and unexpected characters make a surprising return in this stunning conclusion to Kelley Armstrong’s New York Times bestselling Darkness Rising trilogy.

This Blonde’s review:
I really enjoyed this series and was looking forward to seeing what was going to happen next. And I have to say that this book didn’t really explode. It kind of fizzled. That’s not to say that it didn’t have some great parts to it, or that I was unhappy with the ending. But something about it just felt flat to me.

There is the love triangle, the long lost family members, the misunderstood family members, the friends who do whatever it takes, and new friends. This book really does have a lot of everything. And while Maya thinks she can’t have her happy ending, she really can. And maybe that’s part of the problem. Everything went down so easily once they really got down to it. No one really fought Maya on anything, even the ones who were supposed to disagree with her the most.

I don’t really know what else to say about this one without giving everything away. If you’ve already been caught up in Maya’s story then you’ll want to read this book to find out what happens. But don’t expect anything like a crashing helicopter or anything. This really does feel more like it is just wrapping up what happened in the other two into the neatest bow.

I enjoyed this one, but it really left me wanting more. Even with that, I enjoyed this series and would recommend it to those who enjoy the idea of teenagers discovering they have abilities they never knew existed.

 

6 responses to “The Rising – Kelly Armstrong

  1. Rashika

    March 24, 2013 at 1:03 pm

    Hmm.. THERE IS A LOVE TRIANGLE?? Rafe and Daniel?
    YAY
    (I hate love triangles but I happen to love Daniel so to think she may have feelings for him makes me happy)
    although now I am worried. I was excited for this book because Chloe and Derek would be in it but now I get the feeling it’s going to be somewhat disappointing.

     
    • This Blonde Reads

      March 31, 2013 at 1:44 pm

      Yes there is! I’m not sure I love how the triangle worked out though. That’s an opinion thing since I’m sure many would choose each guy.

       
  2. Rashika

    March 31, 2013 at 1:49 pm

    I think the reason the triangle is somewhat encouraged (in my opinion at least) is because the whole Rafe and Maya thing isn’t satisfying. It’s too insta, people like me would like to see some development. I mean I usually despise love triangles so yeah.
    nooo why cannot love triangles be resolved nicely?? 😦

     
    • This Blonde Reads

      March 31, 2013 at 4:40 pm

      I know, I don’t like the insta thing either. But I also hate the whole best friend who always loved her thing too. So it’s two classics that drive me crazy in the same book. I really didn’t like this series for the romance angle, I liked it because the Rest of it was interesting.

       
      • Rashika

        March 31, 2013 at 4:52 pm

        I hate that too.. I thought I was the only one .-. Except when I read The Calling I wasn’t fed up with that yet so it gets a ‘get out of jail card’. πŸ˜› I actually started the series only because the author mentioned the appearance of Chloe and Derek. It’s not the best reason but I happen to love those two and the rest of the characters from The Darkest Powers so yeah.

         

Leave a Reply

 
