RSS

Things I Can’t Forget – Miranda Kenneally

16 Feb

Things I Can't Forget coverThings I Can’t Forget
By Miranda Kenneally
Hundred Oaks – Book 3
Available March 2013

Companion book to Catching Jordan (review) and Stealing Parker (review). This can be read as a stand alone book.

Description:
Kate has always been the good girl. Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt…with her.

Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…

This Blonde’s Review:
Since I loved Catching Jordan and Stealing Parker I knew I was going to love Things I Can’t Forget, and I was so right.

This is Kate’s story. In her world everything is very clearly labeled as right and wrong, you listen to the bible and you listen to your church. Then something happens that changes everything. Her best friend makes a choice that Kate feels is wrong, but she still supports her. Supporting her changes the way Kate sees herself and she no longer knows what to think.

Going to camp is difficult for Kate, since she’s supposed to be there with her best friend. Instead she’s the new girl. She doesn’t agree with the choices others are making and stands her ground on what she thinks is right for her. When she meets Matt again she is stunned by the changes in him, he went from geek to hot and there are other girls who notice. As their friendship grows and turns into something else, Kate finds herself wanting things she feels she shouldn’t.

I really loved this book! Matt was amazing and Kate’s turmoil is something that I’m sure many teenagers feel. They believe something is wrong, so what will they do when they find themselves in a position where they have to make a choice? Kate is a little more rigid than most, but she’s not a bad person. She’s just trying to be a good person in the best way she knows how. Watching her learn to give a little and accept that her truth doesn’t have to the same for others was great. So many people will judge others because their truths don’t match.

Watching Kate learn and grow made me not want this book to end. She grew on me as the book went on, and I couldn’t help but feel terrible for her when things with her friend didn’t go the right way, and when she thought she was going to lose Matt. I really loved watching her make friends with Parker, since I already loved her from her book.

If you have read anything by Miranda Kenneally before then I know you’re just as impatient as I was to get your hands on this book. She has already solidified herself as an author I love who writes the kinds of books I can pick up and start reading without having a clue what the book is about.

If you would enjoy watching a girl make mistakes and learn how to relate to others while falling into first love, then you’ll love Kate’s story.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2013 in Around The World Tours, Book Review

 

2 responses to “Things I Can’t Forget – Miranda Kenneally

  1. somethingaboutabook

    February 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    You’ve be nominated for the Liebster Award! Check out my blog for more info! http://somethingaboutabook.wordpress.com/2013/02/17/liebster-award/

     

Leave a Reply

 
