RSS

Apollyon – Jennifer L Armentrout

06 Feb

Apollyon coverApollyon
By: Jennifer L Armentrout
Covenant – Book 4
Available April 2013

Please see my reviews of the other books in the Covenant series: Half Blood, Pure, and Diety.

Description:
Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.

Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.

The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.

Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.

This Blonde’s Review:
I have been looking forward to this book for months, ever since I put the last book down. And now I’m going to have the same problem waiting for the 5th book in this series. I can tell that Jennifer Armentrout is one of those authors that I love and hate. I love that this series isn’t over yet, but I hate that there’s another book and I don’t know what’s going to happen yet! I’m really going to hate it when it’s over, I can tell you that.

The Alex we meet when we come back to her story is much different from the one that we have come to know. She is connected to Seth, going so far as to call him “My Seth” and wanting everything the wants. She no longer cares for Aiden or the people who should matter to her. She no longer cares about the things that have driven her in he past. Until the bond is broken.

When Alex does the impossible and breaks the bond with Seth she realizes she has to do whatever it takes to save the world from Seth, Lucian, and the one who is ultimately pulling the strings. Realizing how likely it us that some or all of them could die makes Alex finally start to grow up.

The things we learn and the things that happen in this one make me want to rush into the next book. I have to know what happens and how Alex will deal with the fallout if she survives. There is no way that their lives aren’t changed forever and I have to know what is going on.

If you’ve read the other books in this series then I know you’ll be eager to get your hands on this one. I know you’ll also be very frustrated that you have to wait for the next one to find out what happens. I still can’t recommend waiting. Get this one as soon as you can.

 
 

One response to “Apollyon – Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

 
