RSS

Alice in Zombieland – Gena Showalter

16 Oct

Alice In Zombieland
By Gena Showalter

Description:
She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently. I’d tell my sister no. I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad. I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words. Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time. I’d tell them I love them. I wish… Yeah, I wish

This Blonde’s Review
I never realized how much I didn’t like Alice until I read Alice in Zombieland. The original Alice always struck me as spoiled, uninterested in anyone but herself, and rather unlikeable. I liked the adventure perhaps, but not Alice. Our Alice is nothing like that.

Ali grew up with a drunken father she knows is crazy. He’s so distracted by the monsters he sees that he can’t seem to care about anyone else. His desire to protect them outweighs his ability to be there for them. Ali’s mother makes excuses for him so is little help in their daughter’s attempts to have a real life. For Ali’s birthday she talks her parents into something they’ve never agreed to before & that changes everything.

In a blink Ali loses everything that matters to her. She didn’t bounce back like nothing is wrong, because no one really could. But she isn’t going to give up forever. Soon she’ll fight. Because now she knows her dad wasn’t crazy.

She moves to a new house to live with her grandparents, had to go to a new school, make new friends. Ali gets lucky by making the best type of friend (who I loved) early. Life gets complicated as soon a she makes eye contact with the most dangerous guy in school. Because we can’t have a story without a love interest and our Alice can’t have a study boy. Especially as she gets herself into more scrapes and shows us how tough she really is.

I wasn’t sure how I’d feel about this I’m since I’m not fully into the zombie trend. Ali won me over though. She’s obviously had a hard time and can’t even think of certain things at first. Despite that she’s stronger than she seems. She will avenge her family, even when life takes a turn for the unexpected. I can’t help but respect a girl who will fight for what she believes, even if it’s easier to retreat.

If you enjoy strong characters who wrong let their baggage defeat them, dangerous boys who are more than they seem, & zombies that aren’t your typical zombies then you’ll love this one.

 

One response to “Alice in Zombieland – Gena Showalter

Leave a Reply

 
