RSS

If We Kiss – Rachel Vail

03 Oct

If We Kiss coverIf We Kiss
By Rachel Vail
If We Kiss – Book 1
Available Now

Description:
What would happen if we kiss?

Kevin led me quickly around the side of the building, then stopped. I managed not to crash into him. I tried to look calm, cool, unperturbed. I told myself not to laugh, especially not a snorting kind of laugh. “Wha . . . what did . . .”

And then he kissed me.

If We Kiss is the story of Charlotte (Charlie to her friends), who finds herself falling for a boy who is off-limits. Her best friend is in love with him, and her mother and his father are dating. Still, Charlie can’t help but wonder, what would happen if we kiss?

This Blonde Reads
This one was rather hard to review since I didn’t care for it, yet it was hard to say exactly why. Charlie makes some bad choices but nothing that has prevented me from liking characters in other books.

Charlie is basically just your average good girl. She’s not too experienced with boys yet lets a guy lead her outside to make out with her against a building, then acts like it never happened. Then the obvious thing would be for her friend to start dating him and her not to admit what she feels for him or what happened between them. Even better is when they start spending time together and she gets to see that she really does like him like she thought. Throughout it all Charlie listening to her friend fall harder for Kevin.

Then we have Kevin. There have been books where I’m torn on whether I can like our lead girl or not but the guy is the one who wins me over. This is not Kevin. I don’t actually see what’s so great about Kevin, since he is the very picture of a guy who doesn’t care what girl he has as long as he has one to make out with. Clearly a winner.

I wanted to like this one, but I found myself irritated and not caring about any of the characters. Not caring about anyone involved made it pretty hard for me to enjoy their story. I hate to make it about the author and the book, since there wasn’t necessarily anything to set this book apart from the others I’ve read that are similar, so perhaps I wasn’t in the right mindset for this one.

If it sounds good to you then you really should give it a try. You may connect with Charlie and find yourself really loving her story.

 

One response to “If We Kiss – Rachel Vail

Leave a Reply

 
