RSS

Once – Anna Carey

25 Jun

OnceOnce
By Anna Carey
Eve – Book Two
Available July 2012

The description and review contain spoilers for Eve, the first book in this series.

Description:
Sixteen years have passed since a deadly virus wiped out most of the Earth’s population. After learning of the terrifying part she and her classmates were fated to play in the rebuilding of New America, eighteen-year-old Eve fled to the wilds and Califia, a haven for women determined to live outside the oppressive rule of the king of New America. However, her freedom came at a price: she was forced to leave Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. Eve quickly learns that Califia may not be as safe as it seems and soon finds herself in the City of Sand and the palace of the king. There she uncovers the real reason he was so intent on her capture, and the unbelievable role he intends her to fill. When she is finally reunited with Caleb, they will enact a plan as daring as it is dangerous. But will Eve once again risk everything—her freedom, her life—for love?

This Blonde’s Review:
What if you found out everything you ever believed about your life was a lie?
That’s what Eve faced in the first book in this series. Except the revelations didn’t end there.

Eve was forced to take refuge in Califia alone. When she finds out what happened to Arden and Caleb she knows she can’t stay in Califia any longer. Eve soon finds herself in the King’s palace, though not in a way she ever expected, trying to figure out who to trust and how to save her friends.

After the way the first book ended I knew I’d have to read on to find out what happened to Caleb, Eve, and the others she cared about. There were many things that were predictable but in some ways that’s a good thing.

Eve had to grow up and recognize that the world wasn’t what she thought in the first book. In the second book she had to help others see the same thing.

I still couldn’t connect with Eve as much as I liked and there were other characters I wish I could have seen more of. I really hope to see more of them in the third book.

Once helped build the world more and it gave Eve a chance to stand on her own instead of letting others save her. Eve isn’t done growing yet. She is changing from scared girl to angry fighter. I may not love her yet but I think I could if she is able to fight for the people she cares about and free her friends.

The surprise at the end had me eager to read the next book too. I don’t know how I want Eve to handle the situation, so I know I’ll be eager to get my hands on it to see if I can agree with her choice or not.

Overall, this one is worth reading if you read the first book in the series. It continues to build the world & Eve’s character. We don’t see the same character development in some of the other characters we came to love in the first book but I’m hoping we’ll see it early in the next one.

 

One response to “Once – Anna Carey

Leave a Reply

 
