RSS

First Comes Love – Katie Kacvinsky

24 Mar

First Comes Love
By Katie Kacvinsky
Available May 2012

.
Description:
Like his name, Gray is dark and stormy. Dylan, a girl always searching for what’s next, seemingly unable to settle down, is the exact opposite: full of light and life. On the outside, they seem like an unlikely couple. But looks can be deceiving and besides, opposites attract.

What starts as friendship, turns into admiration, respect and caring, until finally these two lone souls find they are truly in love with each other.

But staying in love is not as easy as falling in love. If Dylan and Gray want their love to last, they’re going to have to work at it. And learn that sometimes love means having to say you’re sorry.

.
This Blonde’s Review:
Gray doesn’t want to be a part of the world around him. He exists and gets by, but nothing more. Dylan refuses to settle down, she looks for beauty in the things that are overlooked. They’re opposites in every way, but something about the other draws them in. Gray finds Dylan annoying but can’t seem to turn her down when she decides they’re friends. Before he knows what’s happening Gray starts to watch for Dylan and want her around.

As their friendship turns into love they Gray has to step outside of himself and start to live again. He has to face his past and the way it has shaped who is has turned into. Does he want to be the guy who isn’t really alive, or does he want to move on with his life? Is a life with Dylan worth the pain and struggle of trying to get his life back?

Love comes first, but what follows isn’t easy. Gray isn’t the only one who has to decide what he wants out of his life. As he gets his life back on track he finds out love isn’t the solution to everything. Learning to live again means new problems, including Dylan’s unwillingness to give him what he wants most.

I really enjoyed the other book I’ve read by this author and was eager to find out about the her next book. The description had me uncertain if I’d enjoy it but I decided to give it a shot. Honestly, this book was just okay in my opinion. I didn’t feel like it was a waste of time to read, but I also didn’t find myself caught up in it and hoping friends would read it so we could discuss it.

I enjoyed watching Gray learn to live again. I liked that Dylan wasn’t a typical girl and didn’t follow the usual paths girls in YA travel. This book was unlike others in such great ways. I enjoyed seeing their relationship develop and watching things not go as hoped. I loved that Katie Kacvinsky was willing to make her characters learn to live without having to rely on each other.

Otherwise, I may have read this book at the wrong time for me since as much as I liked things in theory, I didn’t feel for either of the characters. I know it isn’t that the author isn’t good enough because I know she is. This story wasn’t high energy or adventure. It’s a story of love and growing up.

If you enjoy reading about life and love without all of the improbable and impossible adventure, then Gray and Dylan’s story is one you will enjoy reading. It’s not perfect, there are problems and incompatibilities, but their lives are never going to be the same after knowing each other.

 

3 responses to “First Comes Love – Katie Kacvinsky

Leave a Reply

 
