RSS

The Probability of Miracles – Wendy Wunder

29 Nov


The Probability of Miracles
By Wendy Wunder
Available December 2011

Description:
Dry, sarcastic, sixteen-year-old Cam Cooper has spent the last seven years in and out hospitals. The last thing she wants to do in the short life she has left is move 1,500 miles away to Promise, Maine – a place known for the miraculous events that occur there. But it’s undeniable that strange things happen in Promise: everlasting sunsets; purple dandelions; flamingoes in the frigid Atlantic; an elusive boy named Asher; and finally, a mysterious envelope containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies. As Cam checks each item off the list, she finally learns to believe – in love, in herself, and even in miracles.

This Blonde’s Review:
Cam is a girl who knows she’s dying. She knows she won’t go to college, get married, have children, or grow up. She’s a realist so she decides not to spend her life chasing cures, instead she wants to live it. I really enjoyed Cam, I liked how sarcastic she was, I loved that she asked for a pet lobster, and that she loved her family enough to go with them on one last crazy move.

Asher is one of my favorite characters in the book. He isn’t perfect, he’s gotten involved with the wrong person before and has superstitions that hold him back. But he’s a genuinely good guy who cares for people. Who wouldn’t like a character like that?

Reading their story and watching their relationship grow is one to give you hope. Hope that this town full of miracles can help Cam. Even though she doesn’t want to believe in the miracles herself. Even though she makes a few happen for her family because she knows they’ll enjoy the believing.

There were a few things I didn’t like about the way the author wrote this one. There were big events in this story that the author glossed over in a sentence or two. We were supposed to acknowledge they happened, they were supposed to matter, yet we weren’t suppose to hear anything about it. Sex and death being two of the big ones. Those are things that deserve more than a sentence. They make a difference in Cam, so we need to be sure what happened and not be left with doubt.

The end of this one … I’m not sure what I expected. I’m not sure what I even wanted in an ending. I think that no matter what, we would have people saying things weren’t good because they weren’t realistic or because they were too depressing. I won’t say which it was for me, only that it left me unsettled. There was an aspect to it that I didn’t care for and left me wondering how I thought it should end if not like that.

Overall, I liked it. If you enjoy reading stories about strong characters who have to learn to believe and who are able to teach others while they learn, then you may enjoy this one.

 

One response to “The Probability of Miracles – Wendy Wunder

Leave a Reply

 
