RSS

The Boxcar Children – Gertrude Chandler Warner

02 Jun

The Boxcar Children
By Gertrude Chandler Warner
Boxcar Children Book One
Available Now

Description:
Even today, Gertrude Chandler Warner’s classic Depression-era story of Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden — four hungry children who transform an abandoned boxcar into a home — fascinates us because, regardless of age, we all long to be on our own. This 60th Anniversary Edition of Warner’s classic sports a bright new cover and many new features but retains L. Kate Deal’s original silhouettes.

This Blonde’s Review:
When I was young I loved this series. I am still not sure if I ever read all of them. When I was given the chance to reread book one in this beloved series I had to see if they were as great as I remember.

Clearly, they’re not as fabulous to a 20something as they were to a single digit child. But they’re classics for a reason, because children love them. Children should love them too. They are written simply, which is wonderful for a new reader. They’re a little too advanced for my son to read but he did attempt to and enjoyed the story with us reading it together. When I told my children there were a lot more books about the boxcar children they were excited to get to hear more about them.

If you never read these as a child you are unlikely to have the same joy in reading them as those of us who did enjoy them. If you read it looking to love it as an adult you are also unlikely to love it. But when you read this book with a child or with a child’s heart you can see the magic. The Boxcar Children is a series that most new readers will enjoy. I’ve already ordered the series for my children and I look forward to sharing that with them.

 

Leave a Reply

 
