RSS

Tyger Tyger – Kersten Hamilton

15 Jan

Tyger Tyger
By Kersten Hamilton
The Goblin Wars Book 1
Available Now

Description:
Teagan Wylltson’s best friend, Abby, dreams that horrifying creatures–goblins, shape-shifters, and beings of unearthly beauty but terrible cruelty–are hunting Teagan. Abby is always coming up with crazy stuff, though, so Teagan isn’t worried. Her life isn’t in danger. In fact, it’s perfect. She’s on track for a college scholarship. She has a great job. She’s focused on school, work, and her future. No boys, no heartaches, no problems.

Until Finn Mac Cumhaill arrives. Finn’s a bit on the unearthly beautiful side himself. He has a killer accent and a knee-weakening smile. And either he’s crazy or he’s been haunting Abby’s dreams, because he’s talking about goblins, too . . . and about being The Mac Cumhaill, born to fight all goblin-kind. Finn knows a thing or two about fighting. Which is a very good thing, because this time, Abby’s right. The goblins are coming.

This Blonde’s Review:
I heard so many great things about Tyger Tyger before I knew what it was about. So of course I needed to find out more. Luckily I was able to acquire a copy from NetGalley.

When I first read the description I wasn’t really in the mood for this type of book, so I put it off for a little while. Then when I did read it I wondered Why I waited.

I love the name Teagan, and I really liked her as a character too. She is smart, more reserved than her outgoing friend Abby, and doesn’t believe in goblins and other fantasy creatures like her mother paints. When her best friend Abby warns Teagan about the goblins she dreamed of Teagan disregards it. Then Finn shows up. He’s hot, has a great accent, and Abby is immediately drawn to him. When he starts talking about creatures she never heard of and goblins like they are Real, she starts to think the whole world has gone crazy. Until she thinks she sees something. And things start happening to the animals where she works. She still doesn’t believe even when her life is changed by something she can’t credit, her father disappears, and they are confronted by a real goblin.

I really loved this book. I love Teagan and Abby and their friendship. Teagan’s little brother Aiden is fantastic and not as annoying as you think he might be with his sound memory (he will sing any song he hears) and his fear of Elvis impersonators. Finn is fantastic with his strength and how far he’ll go to protect the Wylltsons. I could go through and list all of the side characters (Mamieo, Raynor, Lucy, etc) and why I love them, but I won’t do that to you. Let’s just leave it at these characters make you care about them enough to want to know the rest of their story Now.

If you love fantasy YA titles that are set in the real world (with a foray into a magical world) and have strong characters you can love, then you’ll love this book. Be sure to get a copy of the first book in what I’m sure is going to be a wonderful series if you don’t have it already!

Want to read my review of In the Forests of the Night, the second in this series? It contains spoilers so don’t read it unless you’ve already read book 1.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in Book Review, NetGalley, Young Adult

 

One response to “Tyger Tyger – Kersten Hamilton

Leave a Reply

 
