RSS

Entangled – Cat Clarke

30 Dec

Entangled
By Cat Clarke
Available 6 January 2011

Description:
The same questions whirl round and round in my head:
What does he want from me?
How could I have let this happen?
AM I GOING TO DIE?

17-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper – and no clue how she got here.

As Grace pours her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she’s tried to forget. There’s falling hopelessly in love with the gorgeous Nat, and the unravelling of her relationship with her best friend Sal. But there’s something missing. As hard as she’s trying to remember, is there something she just can’t see?

Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here?

This Blonde’s Review:
The cover for this book is so beautiful isn’t it?! I confess I have a secret desire to go Red and would Love to be able to pull off a color like that! the little design keeps the simple cover from being Too simple. In short: I Love this cover and would love to just put the cover art on my wall.

I’m so glad I was part of this tour from Star Book Tours. We were supposed to underline our favorite parts and write notes in the margins. So as I read it I was able to see where each previous reader had their opinions on why she was there. It was neat to see how we differed in our ideas on what was happening to each other.

I loved Grace’s sense of humor, some of the things she says are things I see myself saying. At one point at the beginning of the story she talks about the guy who put her in the room. She talks about how he seems perfect, Except for the whole kidnapping thing. I’m paraphrasing so forgive me, but something to that effect. I hated that she put herself through the things she did, and that she gave others the power over her that she did. I didn’t understand why she did those things, but feeling like I would Like her made me want more for her than she gave herself.

She is locked in a room and made to Remember. She is supposed to remember the things that happened to her and why she wanted to die the night she found herself locked in the room. Her abductor is a boy named Ethan. He locks her in a white room and brings her everything she ever needs before she realizes she needs it. Ethan treats Grace very well, which makes Grace even more confused. He even allows her to attack him without repercussion.

The other main characters are Grace’s boyfriend Nat and her best friend Sal. Clearly Grace’s breaking point stems from something that happened with one or both of these characters considering how much she talked about them. I didn’t really like Sal. I didn’t Hate her, but I didn’t like her for much of the book. I didn’t like the way he treated Grace. Either a fragile thing, or ignoring her, or blowing up at her. I did not see Sal as a good idea of what a friend should be. Even in the end, when Nat is telling Grace how much Sal loves her… I just don’t agree.

It was such an interesting concept. I had my suspicions about where she was and why, but I didn’t write those in the margins and I won’t put them here. I don’t want to spoil it for you. But it started somewhat early when a few things didn’t add up for me, then continued with a comment here or there from Grace.

I loved this book. In some ways I was able to predict where it would go, but that didn’t diminish this book at all. I was So happy with who ended up holding her hand when she was finally free. I really enjoyed Cat Clarke’s first book and can’t wait for her next one! The little blurb of a description I saw on her website looks interesting already! I will be reading more of her work.

This is a book about an emotionally damaged girl who doesn’t know where she is or why she’s there. She is struggling to decide if she even Wants the answers to all of the questions left for her and what she will do once she finds them. If that sounds interesting to you then Definitely pick this book up in January!

 

Leave a Reply

 
