RSS

Firelight – Sophie Jordan

20 Dec

Firelight
By Sophie Jordan
Available Now

Description:
A HIDDEN TRUTH
MORTAL ENEMIES
DOOMED LOVE

Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet of her kind, she nearly pays with her life, only to be spared by a beautiful stranger sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki–a descendant of dragons whose ability to shift into human form is her best defense.

Forced to flee into the mortal world, Jacinda struggles to adapt. The one bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irrestibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will’s dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away – if it dies she will be left a human forever. She’ll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.

Mythical powers and irresistible passion ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide …

This Blonde’s Review:
I LOVED this book. I have read many of Sophie Jordan’s other books (romance novels), so of course I was eager to read her YA book when I heard about it. The cover is gorgeous isn’t it? It’s just perfect in my opinion.

The idea of dragons who turn into people is a Fascinating idea for a book. I really enjoyed this. I love the Sophie Jordan gave Jacinda a sister who is unable to shift from human to dragon. Essentially, they have a family with one dragon and one human living in the draki community. Then they are forced to run from their life into the world of humans. Then the sisters switch places. The one who always belonged no longer belongs, while the sister who has always been outside is now just like everyone else. So we are able to see the changes and how it affects each sister being somewhere she doesn’t feel she belongs.

I love Jacinda and Will. I think they’re both great characters and Can Not Wait for the next book. I think Jacinda is strong character, trying to stay true to herself without hurting her family. Will is caught between his obligations and his conscience. I loved reading their story, how they make things work for them. And seeing what they are willing to do for each other.

I am so impatient for the 2nd book, I hope I get a chance to read an advance copy.

If the book sounds good to you, Read it. If you’re on the fence, just dive on over and read it as well. I’m pretty sure you’ll like it. I know I Loved it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2010 in Book Review, Young Adult

 

Leave a Reply

 
