RSS

Wedding of the Season – Laura Lee Guhrke

05 Dec

Wedding of the Season
By Laura Lee Guhrke
Abandoned at the Alter Book 1
Available 28 December 2010

Description:

Abandoned at the altar . . .

Lady Beatrix Danbury had always known she would marry William Mallory. She’d loved him forever and she’d never doubted he loved her, too. But when she made him choose between their life together or his lifelong dream, Will chose the latter . . . and left two weeks before their wedding.

Return of the duke . . .

Will has no illusions that Beatrix would welcome him back with open arms, but six years did not dim his love or desire for her. The only problem is, she’s about to marry someone else. Someone safe and predictable . . . the complete opposite of Will. But can he stop the wedding of the season and win Beatrix back, or is it just too late?

This Blonde’s Review:
I am going to do my best not to gush, but I really loved this.

Beatrix and Will have loved each other their whole lives. He is adventurous and always dared her to step outside of her comfort zone. Her father was overprotective. He was given a chance to fulfill a dream and go to Egypt. She refused to go and he went anyway.

Six years later, she has changed. She drives a car and is engaged to marry a solid dependable man she likes. Will has lost all of his money funding his search for King Tut. They thought they were over each other. But Will realizes quickly that just because he kept himself too busy to think of her doesn’t mean he doesn’t still love her. Beatrix is a harder sell, she fights it every step of the way. She is determined to believe she does not want grand adventures and that her affection for her fiancée is enough to keep her happy.

When Beatrix’s fiancée calls off the wedding Will steps in to try to win her back. I just love him. He’s charming, he’s not willing to Settle for what is expected and wants to live a life he can love. Beatrix is someone I can relate to. She Needs that adventure, yet she’s afraid and wants the safety as well. She has always regretted not stepping off the edge, and Will is going to help her reclaim that. I just love both of these characters. Normally there is something I don’t love but overlook because I love the Rest of it. Or I love one character more than the other. Yet in this one, I loved it all.

I loved the other characters in this book as well. Julia is Beatrix’s wild cousin who has tried to help Beatrix recover her joy for life. We only catch glimpses of the important male characters, but something about them makes me want to read their books too. I’ve already read Marlow & Emma’s Story and I remember I loved him then too. I don’t believe cousin Paul’s story has been written but it begs to be. Aidan is a character we love to Not like since he is the dreaded fiancée who is between Will and Beatrix, he’s stuffy and doesn’t really Know Beatrix at all. Instead he tries to tame her even more. He and Julia do not care for each other at all. With the hints that Aidan is more than he seems, and the way Beatrix is fond of him and doesn’t break with him happily, you know he’s going to get a book of his own where we will learn to love him.

And as luck would have it and in the way that is predictable (but still loved) about romance novels, book two is about Julia and Aidan. I can’t wait! And luckily for me I received book two from NetGalley as well so expect the review soon. I’m so excited!

If you enjoy a romance novel where love goes wrong and then they try to win it back you’ll love this. I’m sure this series is going to be a hit because I love it already.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 5, 2010 in Book Review, NetGalley, Romance

 

One response to “Wedding of the Season – Laura Lee Guhrke

Leave a Reply

 
