RSS

Pegasus – Robin McKinley

29 Nov

Pegasus
By Robin McKinley
Available Now

Description:
Because of a thousand-year-old alliance between humans and pegasi, Princess Sylviianel is ceremonially bound to Ebon, her own pegasus, on her twelfth birthday. The two species coexist peacefully, despite the language barriers separating them. Humans and pegasi both rely on specially-trained Speaker magicians as the only means of real communication.

But it’s different for Sylvi and Ebon. They can understand each other. They quickly grow close—so close that their bond becomes a threat to the status quo—and possibly to the future safety of their two nations.

This Blonde’s Review:
Can you imagine having a Pegasus of your own? For Princess Sylvi that is what will happen on her twelfth birthday.

Ok so the pegasus is not a pet. It’s a companion that is assigned to members of the royal family to help maintain peace between the humans and Pegasi. But imagine how awesome that would be.

It was slow to start for me, but I liked the book a lot better after we met Ebon, Slyvi’s pegasus. I love the way he’s this smart funny character who doesn’t always follow the rules.

I think the story is so interesting. The story is more than I expected it to be.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about the first half of the story. I loved the last half.

I just wish I had discovered the book late, that way I could have picked up book two immediately! I haven’t read anything by Robin McKinley before, but I have read that she does not write series books. That was an awful ending! Expected if we’re left with a cliffhanger before book two, but still awful! There is no way she’s not writing a sequel to this book.

While this review may sound like an iffy review, know that I don’t mean it that way. I think I’m still trying to wrap my mind around how I felt about parts of it. Overall, I loved it and would recommend it. I know I’ll be reading this one again.

 

Leave a Reply

 
