RSS

Naked – Megan Hart

26 May

Naked by Megan HartNaked
By Megan Hart
Available August 2010

Description:
No strings. No regrets. And no going back.
I didn’t think he wanted me. And I wasn’t about
to get involved with him, not after what I’d heard.
Sure, Alex Kennedy was tall, dark and unbearably
hot, but I’ve been burned before. When I solicited
him to model for my erotic photography book,
I didn’t expect such a heated, passionate photo
session. And now that we’ve crossed that line,
our bodies aren’t the only things
that have been exposed.
But I can’t give my heart to a man who’s so…
unconventional.
His last sexual relationship was with a married couple.
It’s enough that my ex-fiancé preferred men, I can’t
take that chance again no matter how much my body
thrives on Alex’s touch. I can’t risk it, but I can’t resist
it, either.
Alex can be very convincing when he wants something.
And he wants me.

This Blonde’s Review:
Our main character is Olivia. She is a half black woman who was adopted into a white family. She was not raised with religion but her parents are now very devout in their separate religions. She does not have problems with racism, but it does contribute to the identity issues she faces. Alex is her lover, a man she knows enjoys sex with men. This book is told from Olivia’s perspective, so we see her struggles with how to define what they have between them.  It is made harder thanks to a previous relationship that ended when Olivia discovered her fiancee preferred men. 

I’m not a fan of men who know they are irresistible & expect to be wanted, since I find that sort of arrogance unattractive I wasn’t a fan of Alex. It would have been easier to see past this & care for him as a character if I had seen his side of the story. Since I did like Olivia’s character I wanted to like Alex & basically put up with him for her sake. 

We usually know how we want a story to end before it ends, but I admit I wasn’t sure what I wanted to happen even as I read the final pages. Megan Hart did not make this a book about gay men, religion, race, or any of the issues she could have. Instead she wrote a book about sex, identity, and a relationship. Since I knew there was going to be a lot of sex in this book I didn’t expect to find a message in her story, and was pleasantly surprised to find one there.

If you do not like sex stories you won’t care for this. Olivia’s identity issues & relationship worries give this book a sound message. So if you like a book full of sex that can also convey a message, you will enjoy this book. I had not read anything by Megan Hart before but I will be reading something by her again I’m sure. 

(This review was posted from my Palm Pre, so please excuse any formatting errors. I’ll get those fixed as soon as I can.)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 26, 2010 in Erotic, NetGalley, Romance

 

One response to “Naked – Megan Hart

Leave a Reply

 
