RSS

Most Eagerly Yours – Allison Chase

05 May

Most Eagerly Yours
Her Majesty’s Secret Servants Series
by Allison Chase
Available Now

Description:
Raised on their uncle’s country estate, the four orphaned Sutherland sisters formed a close friendship with the young Princess Victoria. Shortly before her coronation as queen, Victoria asks the sisters to serve her in matters requiring the utmost discretion.

They are to become her secret servants…

Laurel, the eldest, is the first to be called. The Queen is threatened by her jealous cousin, George Fitzclarence, who is known for speaking treason. She asks Laurel to pose as a wealthy widow and use her charms to win George’s trust, then find out what he is really plotting. Laurel is prepared for the risks of acting a part, but she encounters an unexpected and formidable obstacle in the Earl of Barenforth–George’s friend and a notorious rake, whom Victoria has warned her to avoid…

An undercover agent for the Home Office, Aidan Phillips, Earl of Barensforth, is on the trail of a financial hoax involving alchemy, murder…and George Fitzclarence. When a lovely young widow wanders into his path and turns his well-laid plans on end, he senses she is hiding something. Aidan is no stranger to seduction, or to the wiles of beautiful women. And he intends employing wiles of his own to uncover the lady’s secrets…

This Blonde’s Review:
I picked this book up on a whim in Walmart. What actually caught my eye was seeing Her Majesty’s Secret Servants on the cover, a strong indication it was part of a series, which I always like. Upon reading the description of the book I was intrigued. It is usually a man in secret service to the king, this took a different route with a woman spy for a Queen. I loved the idea of it. I really enjoyed reading this book. I wish I was able to get a better idea of what the sisters were like so that I can anticipate the coming books more, but I suppose that gives more freedom in building those characters later. Plus I already anticipate the next book based on this one. Laurel is obviously beautiful, but she doesn’t Use her looks or seem to Notice her beauty. She is established as caring and brave right away, so these things all make her into an extremely likeable character. Aidan is the man she shouldn’t trust who intrigues her. Lucky for her he’s on the same side. They only have to realize that so they can work together to get to the answers. This is the first book by Allison Chase that I have read so far. I will be looking to pick up her other two books soon now that I’ve been introduced to this great author.

As I’ve said already, I really enjoyed this book and can’t wait for the next one to come out. If you like Victorian England, good-hearted spies, with plenty of romance and secrets thrown in the mix you’ll love this book. The next in the series Outrageously Yours with her sister Ivy isn’t out until December 2010. I suppose I’ll have to be patient and wait til then. Don’t wait that long to pick up Most Eagerly Yours and let me know what you think.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in Book Review, Romance

 

One response to “Most Eagerly Yours – Allison Chase

  1. Allison Chase

    May 5, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    I’m delighted you enjoyed my book! Thank you so much for the review!
    Hugs,
    Allison 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
